Skip to main content

Replies sorted oldest to newest

When I saw this I thought, doesn't a 25 dollar air accumulator tank installed in the RV's plumbing do the very same thing in a passive way?  It's an air tank with no moving parts.

Your RV can be fitted with an air accumulator tank with just unscrewing a fitting in the cold water system anywhere in the camper and inserting the tank with a couple of short hoses.   Here's one for example.

Accumulator, click here.

We've had the variable speed pumps, sometimes called the 'slow start' and didn't like them.   We went back to the instant on type which are the cheapest design.  Everybody has a different preference.

Last edited by Doug, aka Atchafalaya Man

I'm no expert but I'm not sure I fully agree with all the claims (watched the how it works video).  I don't think electric motors delta efficiency is similar to an automotive engine going back and forth between idle to full peddle ... I would not expect the dry camping electrical power consumption to change much if at all.  And I don't agree with the pressure accumulator comments.  Sure the plumbing pressure will still cycle but not rapidly (like having no accumulator).  The noise issue, I agree with them on that one.  However, I pretty much solved that one by:
1) Finding the places that the pipes were pounding on other things and wrapping them with pipe insulation... an almost free solution. Made a huge difference.
2) Replacing the OEM pump with a better one (not a free solution). I was actually pleasantly surprised at how much more quiet the new pump is.
3) Adding a pressure accumulator (not a free solution).  This doesn't make it quieter, but is does radically reduce the run time.

In the end, I still hear the pump, but to me it is pretty quiet and I find it better than acceptable ... no need for more gizmos.

Watching Amazon is a good idea.

Here is what I'm trying to get rid of: